## **USDF EXECUTIVE BOARD (EB) MEETING**

Teleconference – July 18, 2023

# This document is edited for posting on the USDF website and is not the official or complete version of the minutes of this meeting.

#### Members Present:

George Williams, President Debra Reinhardt, Secretary Bettina Longaker, Region 1 Director Charlotte Trentelman, Region 3 Director Heather Petersen, Region 5 Director Carol Tice, Region 7 Director Bess Bruton, Region 9 Director Sue McKeown, Technical Council Director

Lorraine Musselman, Treasurer Debby Savage, Region 2 Director Anne Sushko, Region 4 Director Noah Rattner, Region 6 Director Helen van der Voort, Region 8 Director Susan Mandas, Activities Council Director Barbara Cadwell, Administrative Council Director

Members Absent: Kevin Reinig, Vice President

**Staff Attending:** Sarah Garn, Ross Creech, Kathie Robertson, Lacy Jinks, Krystina Wright, Melissa Schoedlbauer, Stephan Hienzsch, Connie Huy, Sarah Delahanty

**Guest in attendance**: Gwen Ka'awaloa, Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force, for the DEI Climate Survey agenda item

The meeting commenced at 4:00 p.m. EST by Zoom teleconference.

## Determination of quorum, roll call and conflicts of interest

## Approval of agenda

Heather Petersen moved and Helen van der Voort seconded **to approve the agenda**. Motion carried.

## <u>Updated language for regional championship freestyle music for the 2024 Program Rules</u> <u>– Lacy Jinks, Krystina Wright</u>

Heather Petersen moved and Bess Bruton seconded to approve the updated language for the **2024 regional championship freestyle music rules.** Noah Rattner opposed. Motion carried.

## <u>Removal of Junior and Young Rider teams tests as regional championship classes,</u> <u>effective for the 2025 regional championships – Lacy Jinks, Krystina Wright</u>

Sue McKeown moved and Carol Tice seconded to remove the Young Rider and Junior team championship classes at regional championships. The riders who qualify via Young Rider team test in PSG Jr/YR championship class and Junior team test in Third Level Jr/YR championship class would be allowed to compete at the regional championships as long as equivalencies remain the same. It is recommended regional championship competitions offer Young Rider and Junior qualifying classes for North American Youth Championships (NAYC). Motion carried.

## DEI Climate Survey – Ross Creech and Gwen Ka'awaloa

Gwen Ka'awaloa, Chair of the DEI Task Force, joined the meeting.

Gwen discussed the survey and its success. She summarized positive and negative comments from the survey.

Gwen Ka'awaloa left the meeting.

Noah Rattner moved and Helen van der Voort seconded **to approve the report and make the full report available upon request.** Motion carried.

## USDF Licensed Officials Working Group – Kathie Robertson

a) Waitlist protocols

Sue Mandas moved and Noah Rattner seconded to approve the updated waitlist protocols for judge candidates. Motion carried.

 b) Dressage Technical Delegates exam – retest
Sue McKeown moved and Bess Bruton seconded to approve the retest procedures for dressage technical delegates. Motion carried

## Convention education – Kathie Robertson

Heather Petersen moved and Carol Tice seconded to ask the Adult Programs Committee to find two other topics for the 2023 convention education sessions. Sue McKeown opposed. Motion carried.

## 2023 USDF Volunteer of the Year Award nominations – Melissa Schoedlbauer

Heather Petersen moved and Helen van der Voort seconded to accept the nomination of Eleanor Brimmer the USDF Volunteer of the Year Award. Noah Rattner abstained. Motion carried.

## 2023 Historical Recognition Committee nominations – Ross Creech

Helen van der Voort moved and Charlotte Trentelman seconded **to accept the nomination of Sally Davenport for the USDF Lifetime Achievement Award.** Motion tabled for discussion on the following Members of Distinction nominations. After discussion the motion carried.

Debra Reinhardt moved and Helen van der Voort seconded **to accept the nomination of Beth** Jenkins for USDF Member of Distinction. Sue McKeown abstained. Motion carried.

Bettina Longaker moved and Carol Tice seconded to accept the nomination of Brook Irving-Martz for USDF Member of Distinction. Motion carried.

## USEF Youth Advisory Group affiliate appointment – George Williams

Heather Petersen moved and Bettina Longaker seconded, to appoint Marley McCourt to the USEF Youth Advisory Group. Motion carried.

## Sitting/Rising Division proposal – George Williams

Charlotte Trentelman moved and Carol Tice seconded to send this proposal to the L Program, Judges, and GMO Committees, and competition management for their review and input. Motion carried.

## NAYC – Combined Teams – George Williams

Carol Tice moved and Bess Bruton seconded to approve the proposed combined teams for the 2023 NAYC. Anne Sushko, Bettina Longaker and Debra Reinhardt opposed; Heather Petersen and Noah Rattner abstained. Motion carried.

## New Business/Miscellaneous

Sarah Garn, liaison to the Nominating Committee, informed the Executive Board that an additional PM delegate for Region 7 has been elected, bringing the total PM delegates for the region to three.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:22 p.m. EST.

Respectfully submitted,

Debra Reinhardt USDF Secretary